Leading Provider of Continuing Education for Nurses

Continuing Education Requirements for the State of Iowa

Requirements for license renewal for RNs and LPNs Advanced Practice: Approved Providers: Failure to meet requirements:

Continuing Education: 36 Contact Hours every 3 years

Mandatory Abuse Reporters Courses: 2 Contact Hours during first 6 months of employment & 2 Hours every 5 years thereafter in one of following:
~Dependent Adult Abuse
~Child Abuse
~Combination of Dependent Adult and Child Abuse

First-time renewal: 24 Contact Hours

All continuing education requirements may be obtained by Home Study.

Iowa is a part of the Interstate Compact License group that recognizes and permits nurses to practice in group states under their home state license. License renewal must be obtained under the home state license requirements.

The administrative rules waive the continuing education requirement for any licensee who has a current certification in a specialty area for the advanced registered nurse practitioner at the time of license renewal.

Continuing education: NURSING EDUCATION OF AMERICA® is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation (ANCC). Iowa accepts ANCC approved providers. NEA has dropped Iowa provider number for cost efficiency. Use ANCC.

Failure to meet the requirements of continuing education audits may result in fines and/or suspension.

Back to CE Requirements

Course Listing | Test Log-In | Course Policies | Need Help? | Home
Tech Support 1.417.334.1787