Continuing Education: 36 Contact Hours every 3 years
Mandatory Abuse Reporters Courses: 2 Contact Hours during first 6 months of employment & 2 Hours every 5 years thereafter in one of following:
~Dependent Adult Abuse
~Combination of Dependent Adult and Child Abuse
First-time renewal: 24 Contact Hours
All continuing education requirements may be obtained by Home Study.
Iowa is a part of the Interstate Compact License group that recognizes and permits nurses to practice in group states under their home state license. License renewal must be obtained under the home state license requirements.
|The administrative rules waive the continuing education
requirement for any licensee who has a current certification in
a specialty area for the advanced registered nurse practitioner
at the time of license renewal.
Continuing education: NURSING EDUCATION OF AMERICA® is
accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses
Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation (ANCC). Iowa accepts ANCC
approved providers. NEA has dropped Iowa provider number for cost efficiency.
Failure to meet the requirements
of continuing education audits may result in fines and/or suspension.